Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Floating-point variable

Hello,

I have a variable which is named number, my variable is of type integer. And I have a second variable which is named total. This variable is of type "floating".

I have to multiply by 0.10, the variable 'number' and store the result in the variable 'total'.
    Code:
     total = number * 0.10;
    So, the resultat is 5 * 0.10 = 0.50

On AS400 I get only the value .50 instead of 0.50

52qt.png (see image)

I saw the doc below, but I don't understand... There are several ways to manipulate a floating?

https://www.rpgpgm.com/2018/06/diffe...rs-in-rpg.html

Do you have an idea please?

Code:
    **FREE

dcl-s number int(3) inz(5);
    dcl-s total packed(5:2);

total = number * 0.10;

dsply  %Char(total) ;

*inlr = *on;

Thank you for your help.

Hi Juliette, I am extremely new to RPG also. I think you using %char is why you are getting the result .50.

In my helpful RPG book, it says that %char will always remove all leading zeros from the result. Maybe try it with %DEC?

Comment

RPGNoob is right in that DSPLY is what is making the zero "disappear". It is there. They are wrong however in thinking that %Dec will help - it won't.

%EditC( total : 'X' ) will retain the leading zero.

P.S. Using floats in RPG is (to put it mildly) unusual - but you are not using a float - you are using a packed decimal with 2 decimal places.

Comment

Originally posted by RPGNoob View Post
        Hi Juliette, I am extremely new to RPG also. I think you using %char is why you are getting the result .50.

In my helpful RPG book, it says that %char will always remove all leading zeros from the result. Maybe try it with %DEC?
        Hello RPGNoob,

Thank you for your help. I tried with %DEC, the problem is my resultat is 50 instead of 0.50

Comment

Originally posted by JonBoy View Post