Remote work in AS400

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Remote work in AS400

I am interested in AS400 RPG working remotely. I have 20+ years (USA ) experience in AS400.

Re: Remote work in AS400

It may just be me, but... it makes you sound very outdated when you refer to the system as 'AS400'. I would make a point of saying "RPG on i" or "RPG on IBM i" just because it makes you sound better.

Having said that, I no longer do any hiring... so you can safely ignore what I say :-)

Comment

Of course he might be accurate in saying that he's got 20 years experience on the AS/400... but you're right that he probably is looking for a job programming in RPG on IBM i!

Our users here still call it the AS/400 since that's what they've been calling it forever even though we have a fairly new box running i7.1. I call it the IBM i and tell them that it hasn't been called AS/400 for many years, but...

For searching or posting online, it seems best to refer to all the iterations in order to get the best results... AS/400, iSeries, System i, IBM i (although even this isn't entirely accurate since IBM i is the operating system running on Power Systems hardware as opposed to AS/400 which was the hardware running OS/400...)

Comment

p.s. I bet the list of people with 20 years RPG experience interested in working remotely is quite extensive! I know I would love to do it, at least a few days each week.

Comment

I did work remotely for about 1 1/2 years, I hated every minute.
          I ended up working a bunch more that I should have and it turned my favorite spot in my house (my office)
          a place where I worked. @ scott --- How could we ever ignore you!
          All my answers were extracted from the "Big Dummy's Guide to the As400"
          and I take no responsibility for any of them.

www.code400.com

Comment