Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using QSH to see if Files Exist on Remote Server

Hi All,

Let me start by stating I'm no QSHELL expert and most of my current code has come from Googling but I have managed to create a CLLE program that use SFTP via QSH to send and retrieve files from a Windows Server. My problem is that when there are no files to retrieve I get a QSH0005 Exit code 1 message back to the program as if an error has occurred. What I want to do is check if any files exist before attempting to retrieve them. I've found examples searching the IFS and even printing messages but none that simply tells my program a Yes or No files exist. I think it might be using the FIND command but I can't work out the syntax, has anyone got an example they can share ?

Many Thanks
    Chris

Seems to me that you want to know if there's an SFTP (I assume you mean OpenSSH's sftp program) subcommand that can tell if a file exists before trying to retrieve it. Not sure that this has anything to do with QShell -- at least, not directly.

I guess it depends on what your sftp script does, exactly. But if all it does is retrieve a file -- well, you'll get an error if the file doesn't exist, so... doesn't that tell you that it didn't exist? What more are you after?

If you need to do many different steps based on the file's existence, you could write a very short script that only tries to retrieve the file. If that fails, you know it doesn't exist, so then you could choose to run/not run another more complex script based on the result of the first (short) script.

If what you're doing is simple, though... I don't understand why you're using sftp. Why not use scp? Seems so much easier, no need for a script, etc.

Comment

Hi Scott,

Thanks for you reply which I missed at the time as my notifications don't seem to be working.