Sample records file

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sample records file

This is my first post so I guess a brief introduction is customary...

My name is Wes, I am a Computer Science undergrad at Bloomsburg University in Pennsylvania. I am trying to get a programming position at the textile mill in town where I live where an AS/400 is still in use and RPG is their language of choice for creating interactive programs with which data is entered and sorted. From what I can gather they seem to be willing to train me/get me up to speed but I decided I'd rather try and learn as much as I can on my own before hand. I would consider myself proficient at Java and other modern OOP languages and thus far this has me a few astronomical units outside my comfort zone but I like the challenge.

That being said, after much googling and lurking on various forums over the past week I have managed to gain access to the public AS/400 @ RZKH.de and have spent some time getting used to the alien file system (LIB>FILE>MEMBER etc. I'm only 23; most of this is much older than I am), getting acquainted with SEU, etc.

This brings me to my point. Does anyone have available some sort of dummy database with some customer records or something I can use to practice with? Maybe I've been entering the wrong things but I cannot turn up anything like this on a google/forum search.

If I am going about this the wrong way, please, drop some wisdom and get me headed in the right direction.

Re: Sample records file

sql is very much alive on DB2...

I'm not sure do you have access to sql on the RZKH ?

if so create a table that way and we can help you add records.

else --- you will need to create the physical file using DDS.

Welcome,
    Jamie
    All my answers were extracted from the "Big Dummy's Guide to the As400"
    and I take no responsibility for any of them.

www.code400.com

Comment

Make one up?