• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Referencing Fields from an Externally Described File

I am brand new to RPG programming.

Code:
    F/SPACE 2                                                      
    FVShpPerf  IF   E           K Disk    Prefix(sp)               
    FVenshipp  O    E             Printer Prefix(rpt) OfLInd(*IN90)
    With the code above I am trying to define an external table file and prefix it. However when I try to set any fields from the Venshipp print file, like so:

Code:
    Z-ADD     0             rptRptTot
    I get a compile error stating: the name or indicator is not defined. This happens with all fields from Venshipp.

Am I missing something obvious here? My understanding of RPG is once you define an external files you can make reference to its fields, am I defining the file incorrectly?

Re: Referencing Fields from an Externally Described File

is rpttot a field in the printer file?

Also, dont use z-add / move ... Learn RPG Free from the start.
    Hunting down the future ms. Ex DeadManWalks. *certain restrictions apply

Comment

Guess I accidentally made my reply a face book comment.... huh.... Here it is again.

Bryce Stock ยท Freelance Graphic & Web Designer at Freelance Graphic & Web Designer
      Thanks for the suggestions DeadManWalks. Turns out I didn't understand that there was working variables in the Cspec that needed assigned the correct value. So the hunch I had about the issue when asking this question ended up being totally wrong.

As for RPG Free and Z-Add. I know that Z-Add is bad to use and that RPG Free is the newer/better. I didn't decide to use Z-Add or learn RPGLE over Free, I am in a training for my work, most of their programs are still written in RPGLE and some I'm sure many of them use Z-Add as well.

Thank you for your help, its good to know I have this forum as a resource when I need it.

Comment