Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Join Selects using OleDb

hi,
    I'm a newbie on Iseries Access and As400. I was trying to extract data from Iseries using OleDB IBMDA400. Selecting from one table, i can able to get data, but when i select from multiple tables using join it is not working. Is it possible to use join selects in OleDb?
    Any ideas will be appreciated. Thanks in advance

Re: Join Selects using OleDb

Can't think of why it shouldn't work, so must be something in your SQL statement.
    Can you post the SQL that is not working please? What are you getting back as error(s)?

Comment

Originally posted by Andrew K View Post
      Can't think of why it shouldn't work, so must be something in your SQL statement.
      Can you post the SQL that is not working please? What are you getting back as error(s)?

I use an excel macro to connect and extract data from Iseries using IBMDA400 OleDB.
      When i execute a select statement on a single table, it is working.
      But when i execute a select statement on two tables with join, I received this error message:

Run-time error '-2147467259 (80004005)'
      Automation error
      Unspecified error

this is my code:

rs.Open "Select * from mylib.invtbl a left join mylib.tbldet b on a.tblid=b.tblid where a.tblnum=93002", cn_SystemA, adOpenForwardOnly, adLockReadOnly

I can able to use this code using ODBC connection but i dont want to be creating ODBC name on every workstation that's why i want to use OleDB.

Thanks for your ideas.

Comment

Never really tried IBMDA400, so my knowledge is pretty limited here I'm afraid.

Are you seeing anything at all in the joblog on the iSeries (look at QZDASOINIT jobs) in terms of messages?

Can't see anything wrong with your SQL, but it seems strange if a select over a single table works OK and this doesn't.